After Kayleah Wilson’s recent headlines in the Denver news, Colorado laws on sexual consent are important for Colorado citizens to be aware of, as there are many arguments on this topic regarding morality and personal standards. What will usurp these two things in a court of law is Colorado legislation.
In the state of Colorado the age of consent is 17. Sexual consent means that all parties actively agree to engage in the activity, consent is giving in a fully conscious state of being and is shown both in act and in attitude.
There are many other details that come into play when it comes to sexual consent in Colorado. People who are close in age are an exception.
Fifteen and sixteen year olds may engage in sexual acts with those less than ten years older. Kids less than 15 years old can engage in sexual acts with others less than four years older. So, a 16-year-old may have sex with someone up to 25 years of age and a 12-year-old, in the case of Kayleah Wilson, may consent to sex with a 16-year-old.
A 17-year-old may not legally consent to a person that is in a position of trust such as a teacher or guardian.
Sexual assault would occur in the state of Colorado when any of these boundaries are crossed and the person committing the act is not the victim’s spouse. This is a class 4 felony.
Unlawful sexual contact would be when a person knowingly encourages a child to expose intimate parts with or with out sexual contact or engages in sexual contact with that child. A child is anyone under the age of eighteen.
Statutory rape is when an adult has sexual intercourse with a person under the legal age of sexual consent.
Even though some people argue that post-pubescent children are technically biologically ready to engage in sexual activities, the reality is that they may not be mature enough to understand the consequences of their actions, therefore these laws are in place to protect them.
It also protects them from malicious adults and pedophiles. It is important to remember that consent can also be withdrawn at anytime.
These Colorado laws will differ though if the person is a pregnant minor, legally considered an emancipated minor, a minor living apart or a married minor.
See www.state.co.us for more information on Colorado consent laws.