Colorado State University

admin April 23, 2011 0

Colorado State University (CSU) is one of the leading research universities in the nation.  Some of their research includes atmospheric science, clean energy technologies, infectious diseases, and environmental science.  Students that go to this college have the opportunity to work alongside the faculty.  In addition, they have the opportunity to participate in cutting-edge research as early as their freshman year.


CSU was founded in 1870, six years before Colorado became a state, and was originally named Colorado Agricultural College.  Under the Morrill Act of 1862, it was one of 68 land-grant colleges that were established, and when it opened its doors in 1879, the enrollment was 19 students.  In 1957, it was renamed Colorado State University.   The college is located at the base of the Rocky Mountains and the western edge of the Great Plains in the city of Fort Collins.


Today, the enrollment consists of students from more than 80 countries and every US state.  For the students, there are 13 residence halls that have a capacity of around 5,300 students plus apartments for students with families and for working graduate students.


For Colorado residents, this is the “university of choice.” Those attending Colorado State University can choose a major in science, engineering, math, and technology.  In addition to these programs, other degrees such as occupational therapy, veterinary medicine, agriculture, journalism, and construction management are popular choices.    In total, there are more than 150 programs of study in the eight colleges that make up Colorado State University.


Here are some of the programs that are offered at Colorado State University.


  • College of Agricultural Science—Five degree programs
  • College of Applied Human Services—Twelve degree programs
  • College of Business—They offer MBA programs, graduate programs, undergraduate programs, and certificate programs
  • College of Engineering—Eight degree programs
  • College of Liberal Arts—Graduate programs and undergraduate programs
  • College of Natural Sciences—Seven degree programs
  • College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences—Four degree programs
  • Warner College of Natural Resources—Seven degree programs with eighteen concentrations within these majors.
  • Continuing Education Program
  • Graduate School
  • School of the Arts
  • School of Biomedical Engineering
  • School of Education
  • School of Global Environmental Sustainability
  • School of Social Work


Colorado State University also offers the following:


  • 65 fields of study in Undergraduate  Degrees
  • 55 fields of study in Master’s Degrees
  • 40 fields of study in Doctoral Degrees
  • Doctor of Veterinary


Colorado State University offers Co-Curricular and Academic Programs


  • Applied studies in American Ethnicity
  • ASCSU Student Government
  • Honor Societies at CSU
  • International Programs and Study Abroad
  • Leadership and Diversity Programs
  • Learning Communities
  • ROTC, Army, and Air Force
  • Service Learning and Volunteer Programs
  • Undergraduate Research and Creativity
  • University Honors Program
  • Women’s Programs and Studies

Leave A Response »